ARTravenous, Venice Art Walk

Thursday, March 17th, 2016, 6-10:00pm @ 23 Windward Ave, Venice, CA 90291DSC08301 DSC08302 DSC08303  DSC08305 DSC08311 DSC08312 DSC08313 DSC08314 DSC08315 DSC08316 DSC08317 DSC08318 DSC08319 DSC08320 DSC08321 DSC08322 DSC08323 DSC08324 DSC08331 DSC08335 DSC08336 DSC08338 DSC08339 DSC08340 DSC08343 DSC08347 DSC08348 DSC08351 DSC08352 DSC08353 DSC08354 DSC08355 DSC08356 DSC08357 DSC08358 DSC08359 DSC08360 DSC08361 DSC08362 DSC08363

DSC08382 DSC08385 DSC08387 DSC08389 DSC08393DSC08396DSC08397 DSC08398 DSC08399 DSC08402 DSC08403 DSC08404 DSC08405 DSC08406 DSC08407 DSC08408 DSC08409 DSC08410 DSC08411 DSC08412 DSC08413 DSC08414 DSC08419 DSC08425 DSC08426 DSC08427 DSC08428 DSC08429 DSC08430 DSC08431 DSC08432 DSC08433 DSC08434 DSC08435 DSC08436 DSC08437 DSC08438 DSC08439

img_0205-1

ARTravenous

 
ARTravenous is a celebration of life, art, music, poetry, and comedy.
ARTravenous
ART (Located on the upstairs balcony)

DCastro

http://www.dcastroarts.com

John Christensen

http://www.americanprimitive.net

Lindsay Carron

http://lindsaycarron.com

Marjan Vayghan

http://marjanv.com

Sandra Zebi

http://zebidesigns.com

COMEDY

Betsy Salkind

http://www.betsysalkind.com

MUSIC

Carol McArthur

http://www.carolmcarthur.com

Sayed Sabrina

http://www.sayedsabrina.com

POETRY

Art Currim

Twitter @ArtCurrim

Chaya Silberstein

http://www.poetsdinner.blogspot.com

James Berkowitz

http://www.jamesberkowitz.com

Maryam Mottahedeh

https://library.biblioboard.com/

Search: “Heartfelt Journey”

Sean Hill

http://www.letsbendreality.com

SPONSORS

Elevate In-Home Massage

http://www.elevateinhome.com

Gibbons Media

http://www.gibbonsmedia.com

Sea of Silver

http://www.seaofsilversm.com

The Film Detective

http://www.thefilmdetective.com

LIVE PERFORMANCE SET TIMES

(Located on the First Floor Stage)

7:30-8:00 Carol McArthur

8:00-8:10 Art Currim

8:10-8:20 Maryam Mottahedeh

8:20-8:30 Sean Hill

8:30-8:40 Break / Announcements

8:40-8:50 Chaya Silberstein

8:50-9:00 James Berkowitz

9:00-9:15 Betsy Salkind

9:15-10:00 Sayed Sabrina

10:00-10:15 Awesome Giveaway Time

*LIVE STREAMING

(I’m experimenting with an app Live Air Solo via my iphone to stream the event via my You Tube channel under my name and link berky1). I will update prior to the event.

HASHTAGS

Please use the following hashtags with posts #vac16 #venice #artravenous #art #poetry #music #comedy #veniceartcrawl

We are grateful for your presence and support. Thank you very much for being part of the event.

LitCrawl LA NOHO BEAT 2015

GUERILLA READS NO 95

And this just in!

Grateful to Los Angeles Poet SocietyLit Crawl LA: NoHoBronwyn MauldinBronwyn Mauldin from Guerrilla Reads for the opportunity to share a message of peace, hope, harmony, understanding, and unconditional love to all sentient beings. Thank you very much. ‪#‎poetry‬ ‪#‎lit‬ ‪#‎reading‬ ‪#‎performance‬ ‪#‎litcrawl‬ ‪#‎losangeles‬

Watch author and sentient being James Berkowitz do a guerrilla reading at the 2015 LA LitCrawl in North Hollywood: http://guerrillareads.com/2015/12/21/guerrillareads-no-95/

Los Angeles Poet Society

SEP 07 LAPS Presents on Full Spectrum, presenting James Berkowitz

Los Angeles Poet Society

at 10:00pm – 12:00am
Sep 7 at 10:00pm to Sep 8 at 12:00am


Join the Los Angeles Poet Society as we join Full Spectrum on www.killradio.org

Call in to the show 213 252 0998

In the studio, we are proud to present:

James Berkowitz
www.jamesberkowitz.com

Alejandro Molina

Jessica Wilson

Juan Cardenas

Idiot Savant

Sayed Sabrina
www.sayedsabrina.com

Celebrating the release of Jessica Wilson’s book of poetry, “Serious Longing” from Swan World Press (Editions du Cygne)
AVAILABLE HERE:
http://www.editionsducygne.com/swanworld-serious-longing2.html

www.losangelespoetsociety.org

Tune in from your cozy home to www.killradio.org
We’ll be jamming, reading poetry, talking life, enjoying the night!

James Berkowitz reading/performing live at Catcher in the Rye for Los Angeles Poet Society event.

GYPSY POET RADIO INTERVIEW LINKS, PODCAST, & VIDEO ARE READY!!!

Hello,

Hope this post finds everyone in good health and creative spirit. The recent interview on Sunday, April 5TH is now available for listening and viewing at the following links listed below. Please share with your social media tribe. Grateful for your support.

Kind regards,

James

Links:

Blogtalk Radio:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/gypsypoet/2015/04/05/james-berkowitz

itunes:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/james-berkowitz/id862220740?i=339269132&mt=2

Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebvB2JshLMk

IMG_1434

BEYOND THE ETERNAL LINE

Truth screams from the streets of the heart

Nectar of life in the palm of a hand

Soul stirs the merchant dream of a moment

A sign of promise in a capitalist land

One breath blew it all away

On the silent wings of a butterfly

Time after time we prevent love’s decay

When we walk

Beyond the eternal line

Sweet jasmine filled the acrid city air

Blossoming through a rusted chain link fence

Colorful refuse swirled our feet

Drunken bodies lay drowned in defeat

A pungent aroma from a hidden alley

Got lost in love as I slowly passed by

The mirror of fate blinks mighty and fast

When we walk

Beyond the eternal line

Angelic friend whispered into my ear

You’re a servant of God have no fear

No need to look hard

No need for tears

See the flower path before you

Painted in a mural that reads

“Welcome”

A spiritual sign

When we walk

Beyond the eternal line

James Berkowitz ©

James Berkowitz reading/performing live at Catcher in the Rye for Los Angeles Poet Society event.

Gypsy Poet Radio Online Interview with Poetic Artist James Berkowitz

James Berkowitz - LAPS, Catcher in the Rye - March 15, 2015

Photo: Esther Lee

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/gypsypoet/2015/04/05/james-berkowitz

The Queen of Fresh, Sophia-The Gypsy Poet…The Gypsy Poet……….., talks to fellow poet James Berkowitz on the show! He talks about his poetry, his inspiration, his life and much more! Tune in for an afternoon of poetry, emotion and enchantment! #poetry #books #indiepub #writerslife #indieauthors #NPM15 #radio

Thanks for tuning in and sharing with your social media tribe!
GLOBAL TIMES AND DATES LISTED BELOW!
*Show will be archived for future listening*

4/6/15 After Midnight

6AM Seoul
6AM Tokyo
4AM Chiang Mai
2:30AM New Dehli
1:30AM Tehran
1AM Dubai
12AM Saint-Petersburg

4/5/15 Pre-Midnight

11PM Tel Aviv
10PM Berlin
10PM Istanbul
10PM Paris
10PM Rome
10PM Vienna
10PM Warsaw
9PM London
9PM Dakar
6PM Rio De Janeiro
5PM Toronto
5PM EDT
4PM CDT
3PM MDT
2PM PDT
11AM Honolulu

POETRY – LA TIMES BOOK FESTIVAL

*Thank you for your help and support as we approach the March 6TH Deadline*

Dear friends and WordPress tribe,

I am grateful for the opportunity to be part of this magnificent annual event. Your support is needed in making that happen by clicking the following link http://bit.ly/1amy82H and pressing LIKE, COMMENT if inclined, and share with your WordPress and Facebook tribe. Thank you very much for your time, effort, and support. ‪#‎poetry‬ ‪#‎latimesfestivalofbooks‬ ‪#‎losangeles‬ ‪#‎books‬

Sincerely,
James Berkowitz

The Los Angeles Times Festival of Books is the largest book festival in the country. The festival will be held April 18-19, 2015 at USC and feature celebrities, famous authors, music, film, comic books, cooking demos and more.

via POETRY.

Poem inspired by this image and events in Paris. Artist unknown. If you know of the artist please share so I can give credit.

TEARS FOR PEACE

Tears for peace

Run down the face of humanity

Crying wounds of hate

Seek impossible escape

When the light of the soul

Clenches the darkness of barbaric ways

Tears for peace

Run down the face of humanity

Oh sweet world

Gift of life and mind

Remove evil teachings from the eyes of humankind

Lift us from the dust of earth

Return us from the heavenly skies

Embrace the call to oneness

In the sharing of eternal life

Tears for peace

Run down the face of humanity

Down the face of humanity

Run tears for peace

Tears for peace

Peace for tears

Tears for peace

Peace or tears

james Berkowitz © 2015

SOMETIMES WHEN ALONE

SOMETIMES WHEN ALONE

Dismayed by human atrocity. Poetic healing. J’aime Paris! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYtxYRO_YpM ‪#‎JeSuisCharlie‬ ‪#‎CharlieHebdo‬ ‪#‎parisattack‬

SOMETIMES WHEN ALONE


Sometimes

when alone

the wonder of your lips

caresses my mind

and soothes the troubles of a violent world

where bullets pass through life

from a trigger finger crying for love

whose path gone awry

set the stage for mass killing

and human atrocity

sent into thin air as smoke signals

from a smoldering gun

Sometimes

when alone

the soft touch of your hair

draped across my body

protects and shields a delicate heart

from the rampant ills of society

where a breath of life

creates an arched rainbow of awareness

across the blood red sky of humanity

falling in a blanket of ash

from the bones and skin of a smoldering gun

Sometimes

when alone

the sound of your beating heart

into my ear brings the comfort

of a child nestled against a mother’s bosom

whose milk has flowed throughout

the history of all creation

whose love poured from nipple to mouth

devoured any thought of weaponry

whose child reared never needed a gun

whose child grown into maturity never needed war
JAMES BERKOWITZ © 2012